On Air Now Ted Reynolds 10:00pm - Midnight Email
Now Playing Happy Pharrell Williams Download

Local Election Results

Voters in Newark and Sherwood took to the polls yesterday and the local election results have been announced at Newark Sports and Fitness Centre this morning.

Local Conservatives have won 26 seats in the Newark and Sherwood District Council, with 47% of the votes. A gain of two seats from the last local election in 2015. Labour have 7 seats with 27% of the votes, 5 less than in 2015. Independents remain at 3 seats and Liberal Democrats have 2 seats compared to none in 2015.

Full results are below.

Balderton North & Coddington (Turnout 32.97%)

Betty Brooks (Local Conservatives) and Johno Lee (Conservatives)

Balderton South (Turnout 25.6%)

Lydia Hurst (Conservatives) and Ronnie White (Conservatives)

Beacon (Turnout 31.98%)

David Lloyd (Local Conservatives), Rita Crowe (Local Conservatives) and Mathew Skinner (Local Conservatives)

Bilsthorpe (Turnout 33.92%)

Rhona Holloway (Local Conservatives)

Boughton (Turnout 34.72%)

Brendan Clarke-Smith (Local Conservatives)

Bridge (24.39%)

Irene Brown (Independent) and Gill Dawn (Independent)

Castle (Turnout 30.12%)

Keith Girling (Local Conservatives)

Collingham (Turnout 40.29%)

Maureen Dobson (Independent) and Linda Dales (Local Conservatives)

Devon (Turnout 27.43%)

Max Cope (Local Conservatives), Bob Crowe (Local Conservatives) and Laurence Goff (Labour)

Dover Beck (Turnout 39.21%)

Roger Jackson (Local Conservatives)

Edwinstowe & Clipstone (Turnout 28.08%)

Michael Brown (Local Conservatives), Scott Carlton (Local Conservatives) and Paul Peacock (Labour) 

Farndon & Fernwood (Turnout 33.42%)

Neill Mison (Local Conservatives), Ivor Walker (Local Conservatives) and Keith Walker (Conservatives)

Farnsfield (40.82%)

Bruce Laughton (Conservatives)

Lowdham (Turnout 42%)

Timothy Wendels (Local Conservatives)

Muskham (Turnout 42.04%)

Sue Saddington (Local Conservatives)

Ollerton (Turnout 29.05%)

Lee Brazier (Labour), Donna Cumberlidge (Labour) and Neal Mitchell (Labour)

Rainworth North & Rufford (Turnout 27.84%)

Louis Brailsford (Local Conservatives) and Tom Smith (Local Conservatives)

Rainworth South & Blidworth (Turnout 26.67%)

Kathleen Arnold (Labour) and Yvonne Woodhead (Labour)

Southwell (Turnout 45.65%)

Malcom Brock (Liberal Democrats), Peter Harris (Liberal Democrats) and Penny Rainbow (Local Conservatives)

Sutton-on-Trent (uncontested)

Sylvia Michael (Local Conservatives) elected as a result of no contest.

Trent (Turnout 46.48%)

Roger Blaney (Local Conservatives) is duly elected for the Trent ward for Newark and Sherwood District Council.

The highest turnout was in the Trent Ward, which includes Averham, Bleasby, Fiskerton, Gibsmere, Goverton, Kelham, Morton, Rolleston, Staythorpe and Upton with 46.48%.

More from Local News

Listen Live